Advocacy Council

As set in Article I of our constitution, the objective of the European Respiratory Society is to promote respiratory health in order to alleviate suffering from respiratory disease. Advocacy is a core pillar of the Society and is co-ordinated via the European Respiratory Society Advocacy Council.

The main objectives are:
  • Increase ressources to manage patient and respiratory health problems, to research respiratory-related disorders, to promote education for healthcare professionals in respiratory health
  • Coordinate all matters pertinaing to advocacy of the Tobacco Control Committee and the Environment & Health Committee
  • Link with other organisations to promote awareness for respiratory disorders at national, EU and global level.
The Council is constituted via the by-laws of ERS and is comprised of key leaders of the European Respiratory Society:

To be announced Advocacy Council Chair

Tobias Welte President

Thierry Troosters President-Elect

Anita Simonds Vice President

Isabel Saraiva European Lung Foundation Chair

Charlotta Pisinger Chair of the ERS Tobacco Control Committee

Barbara Hoffmann Chair of the ERS Environment and Health Committee

Constantine Vardavas Director of Scientific Relations with the EU

Peter Calverley Advocacy Council expert on COPD

Ivan Solovic Chair of the Ad hoc Working Group on TB Advocacy

ERS Executive Director is an observer